Supervisory authorities

Search




Home > News

Hybrid heterostructures for spintronics

published on

Spintronics is a quantum technology that aims to add the quantum spin degree of freedom to conventional CMOS electronics. Since the discovery of giant magnetoresistance in 1988 by Albert Fert and Peter Grünberg, considered the birth of this field, spintronics has continued to flood the market with a plethora of devices used in everyday applications such as the reading heads of hard drives, magnetic sensors in cars or magnetic random-access memories (MRAM), etc.

From a fundamental research perspective, the field is still booming, technologically bringing post-CMOS perspectives closer to reality with, for example, prototype logic circuits and neuromorphic systems. To support this intense research activity, the search for new "platform" materials is also underway, not only to improve existing performance, but also to generate new functionalities. In this vein, carbon nanostructures such as molecules, graphene and carbon nanotubes are some of the most sought-after materials.

In this review published in Advanced Quantum Technologies, spin transport experiments in carbon nanotubes and graphene are first detailed, then the need to consider new hybrid organic/inorganic interfaces is highlighted for better control of spin injection at the quantum device.


Figure:
Graphene chemical functionalization via radical, carbene, nitrene, or aryne cycloaddition.

Contact:
Clément Barraud (clement.barraud@u-paris.fr)

Reference:
Organic–Inorganic Hybrid Interfaces for Spin Injection into Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene, Pascal Martin, Bruno Dlubak, Pierre Seneor, Richard Mattana, Marie-Blandine Martin, Philippe Lafarge, François Mallet, Maria Luisa Della Rocca, Simon M.-M. Dubois, Jean-Christophe Charlier, Clément Barraud, Advanced Quantum Technologies, 2100166 (2022)

Accueil > Actualités

Hétérostructures hybrides pour la spintronique

publié le

La spintronique est une technologie quantique qui vise à ajouter le degré de liberté quantique de spin à l’électronique CMOS conventionnelle. Depuis la découverte de la magnétorésistance géante en 1988 par Albert Fert et Peter Grünberg, considérée comme la naissance de ce domaine, la spintronique continue d’inonder le marché de pléthore de dispositifs utilisés dans les applications de la vie courante comme les têtes de lecture de disques durs, des capteurs magnétiques dans les voitures ou bien les mémoires magnétiques à accès aléatoire (MRAM), etc...

Du point de vue de la recherche fondamentale, le domaine est toujours en plein essor, rapprochant technologiquement les perspectives post-CMOS de la réalité avec, par exemple, des prototypes de circuits logiques et des systèmes neuromorphiques. Pour soutenir cette intense activité de recherche, la recherche de nouveaux matériaux « plateforme » est également en cours, non seulement pour améliorer les performances existantes, mais également pour générer de nouvelles fonctionnalités. Dans cette veine, les nanostructures carbonées telles que les molécules, le graphène et les nanotubes de carbone font partie des matériaux les plus recherchés.

Dans cette revue publiée dans Advanced Quantum Technologies, les expériences de transport de spin dans les nanotubes de carbone et le graphène sont d’abord détaillées, puis la nécessité de considérer de nouvelles interfaces hybrides organique/inorganique est mise en évidence pour un meilleur contrôle de l’injection de spin au niveau du dispositif quantique.


Figure :
Fonctionnalisation chimique du graphène par cyclo-addition de radical, carbene, nitrene ou aryne.

Contact :
Clément Barraud (clement.barraud@u-paris.fr)

Référence :
Organic–Inorganic Hybrid Interfaces for Spin Injection into Carbon Nanotubes and Graphene, Pascal Martin, Bruno Dlubak, Pierre Seneor, Richard Mattana, Marie-Blandine Martin, Philippe Lafarge, François Mallet, Maria Luisa Della Rocca, Simon M.-M. Dubois, Jean-Christophe Charlier, Clément Barraud, Advanced Quantum Technologies, 2100166 (2022)